Skip to content
C-A-R-T-ACompilatore Automatico di Righe, Testi e Anagrafiche Open C-A-R-T-A

Comparison

This page puts C-A-R-T-A next to the most widely used PDF readers: how big they are, how much memory they ask for, what they cost, whether your files stay on your device and what they can do. Where a figure is not available in an official or reliable source, it says "not stated" or "?": nothing is made up.

Date of the comparison: 1 November 2026. Competitors' pages change often (new versions, new plans): before deciding, check the source given. This comparison is written by the author of C-A-R-T-A, so read it with that in mind: that is why every number has its source, and C-A-R-T-A's own measurements are described below so you can repeat them.

The short version

Size, memory, price, files and AI

Sizes are in megabytes (MB, one million bytes), except where MiB is written. "Not stated" means the official page does not give the figure. Figures from unofficial sources are marked as such.

ReaderPlatformsProgram sizeMemory and disk requiredPriceWhere the files areAI
C-A-R-T-AAny modern browser (computer, phone, tablet); installable as an appFirst visit about 5.1 MB (about 1.9 MB compressed). On-device OCR: about 5.8 MB more, onceNo requirement stated. Measured: see below (JS heap 3-5 MB; tab processes 150-500 MB depending on the document)Free, no accountOn your device. They go to the compiler (a private server) only if you press an AI function or the "On the server" OCRYes, on the compiler (Claude), only on request
Adobe Acrobat ReaderWindows 64 and 32 bit, macOS; mobile appNot stated. Mobile app: not found2 GB RAM. Disk: 900 MB (Windows 64 bit, English), 1 GB (other languages), 4.5 GB (Windows 32 bit), 380 MB (macOS)Free; editing text and images needs an Acrobat subscriptionNot stated in the pages readAI Assistant: limited requests free, full with a paid add-on. Where it runs: not stated
Foxit PDF ReaderWindows 10 and 11, macOS 10.15-14, iOS, Android, webNot stated by the vendor. A third-party (unofficial) deployment package of 2026.1.1 is about 394 MB512 MB RAM (1 GB recommended) and 1 GB disk, per the official version 10.1 manual (dated)FreeNot stated; integrations with cloud services (SharePoint, DocuSign)ChatGPT integration (details not stated)
PDF-XChange Editor (free version)Windows (also ARM64)Version 11.1.1.0: EXE installer 430.4 MB; 64-bit MSI 383.6 MB; portable 154.5 MB (99.0 MB without OCR)Not stated (the official page lists only operating systems)Free for about 70% of the features; the rest needs a "Plus" licenceNot stated; opens files from Box, Dropbox, Google Drive, OneDrive, SharePointAI assistant: your data is not processed by AI models unless you supply your own API key
SumatraPDFWindows 7-11 (64 bit, 32 bit, ARM64)Version 3.6.1: 64-bit installer 10.56 MB; portable 9.57 MBNot statedFreeNot statedNone mentioned
Okular (KDE)Linux, Windows (Microsoft Store), macOS (test builds)Not stated for Windows. On Linux (Flathub) about 34 MiB to download and about 82 MiB installedNot statedFree (free software, GPL 2 or later)Not statedNone mentioned
PDFgearWindows 10 and 11, Mac, iPhone/iPad, Android, web toolsNot stated by the vendor. Third-party sites report about 93 to about 135 MB, depending on the version512 MB RAM (1 GB recommended) and about 500 MB diskFree, "without signing up" (the site's claim)On the computer; chatting with the PDF needs internetYes (chat and summary with the PDF), online; model not stated
XodoiPhone/iPad, Android; Windows and browser in the Pro versionAndroid app 10.15.0: 81.18 MB (third-party listing, APKMirror)Not statedFree with in-app purchases (converter $11.99 one-off; Mobile and Pro subscriptions $107.99 a year)Not statedNot found
Chrome (built-in viewer)Wherever Chrome runsNone: part of the browserNot stated for the viewer aloneFreeOn your device; OCR of scans runs on the deviceNone mentioned in the help pages read
Edge (built-in viewer)Wherever Edge runsNone: part of the browserNot stated for the viewer aloneFreeOn your device (not stated otherwise)None mentioned in the pages read
Firefox (PDF.js viewer)Wherever Firefox runsNone: part of the browserNot stated for the viewer aloneFreeOn your deviceNone mentioned
Preview (Mac) and Files (iPad)macOS, iPadOSNone: part of the systemNot statedFree, included with the deviceOn your deviceNone mentioned in the pages read
SmallpdfWeb; desktop and mobile apps only with the Premium planNone for the web versionNot applicable (runs in the browser; the server does the work)Free with limits; Premium 5 € a month billed yearly (60 € a year) or 9 € a monthOn a server: the file is uploaded; the site says it is deleted after one hour of processingAssistant, summary, translation: in the Premium plan (2,000 AI credits); online
iLovePDFWeb; desktop and mobile apps only paidNone for the web versionNot applicable (runs in the browser; the server does the work)Free with limits (for example files up to 15 MB for OCR, 100 MB for the other tools); Premium plan (price not read)On a server: the site says files are deleted within 2 hours of uploadAI summary; AI credits only paid

Sources of the numbers

All pages were read on 1 November 2026.

C-A-R-T-A, actually measured

The C-A-R-T-A figures are not copied: they are measured on today's version, with the program served locally and a Chromium driven by Playwright. They can be repeated.

Size

The files were added up the program stores on the first visit (the "CORE" list of the service worker, which is what lets it work offline afterwards). Figures in megabytes (one million bytes), measured on the files on disk.

PartSizeWhat it holds
C-A-R-T-A's own code1.10 MB44 files: the page, the JavaScript modules, the style, the languages, the icons
Heading font0.03 MBA single font file
PDF.js (reading PDFs)3.46 MBMozilla's engine, plus the scan decoders (0.47 MB) and the 14 standard fonts (0.80 MB)
pdf-lib (writing PDFs)0.52 MBAnnotations, pages, form filling, drawn signature
Total on the first visit5.11 MB68 files. Over the wire, gzip-compressed, about 1.9 MB (an estimate; it depends on the server)
Tesseract (on-device OCR)5.80 MBThe program (0.20 MB), the engine (3.94 MB) and Italian (1.66 MB). Downloaded only the first time it is needed and kept in the browser's storage

The dictionaries for East Asian fonts (1.17 MB) and the colour profiles are not part of the first visit: they arrive only if a PDF uses them.

Memory

C-A-R-T-A was opened in Chromium (the same family as Chrome and Edge) with a single tab, then two of the site's sample PDFs: the supply contract (text, one page) and the phone scan (a photographed page, the sample with OCR). Two things were read:

How to read these numbers: the memory belongs mostly to the browser and to the engine that draws the pages, not to C-A-R-T-A's code; with more tabs and long PDFs it grows. It is a single run, on a Windows server, with a browser without a window: rounded values that can differ on your device. The peak during OCR was not measured (it succeeded, but once finished the rendering memory had dropped to about 470 MB). The comparison with the other readers is therefore one of order of magnitude: competitors state minimum requirements, here actual use is measured, and the two are not the same thing.

Features compared

yes = the feature appears in the official pages; no = the pages say it is not there; paid = only in a paid plan; partial = available with limits; ? = not found in the pages consulted (it may exist: it could not be confirmed). For web services, "yes" means the tool exists; the free plan's limits are in the table above. On a phone the table scrolls sideways: the first column stays put.

Feature C-A-R-T-A Acrobat Reader Foxit Reader PDF-XChange (free) SumatraPDF Okular PDFgear Xodo Chrome Edge Firefox Apple Preview / Files Smallpdf (web) iLovePDF (web)
Open PDFs yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Signed .p7m files yes ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ?
Digital signature verification (CAdES, PAdES) yes ? yes ? ? yes ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ?
Italian e-invoices (XML) yes ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ?
Fill in forms yes yes yes ? yes ? ? yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Auto-fill with your own data yes ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? yes ? ?
OCR (read scans) yes ? ? partial partial ? ? ? yes ? ? ? yes yes
Drawn signature yes yes yes yes ? ? ? yes yes yes yes yes yes yes
Annotate and highlight yes yes ? ? yes yes ? yes yes yes yes yes yes ?
Organise pages (merge, split, reorder) yes ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? yes ? yes yes
Compress yes ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? yes yes
Black out data yes ? ? ? ? ? ? paid ? ? ? ? yes yes
Compare two versions yes ? ? paid ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? yes
Measure on floor plans yes ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ?
Stamps, watermark, page numbers yes ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? yes yes
AI summary or questions to the document yes partial ? partial ? ? yes ? ? ? ? ? paid paid
Deadlines into the calendar yes ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ?
Check citations of laws yes ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ?
Read aloud yes ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ? yes ? ? ? ?
Several documents in tabs yes ? ? ? ? ? ? ? yes yes yes ? ? ?
Works offline yes yes yes yes yes yes yes ? yes yes yes yes no no
Installable app yes yes yes yes yes yes yes yes no no no no paid paid
Works without an account yes ? ? ? ? ? yes ? yes yes yes yes ? ?
Files stay on your device yes ? ? ? yes yes ? ? yes yes yes yes no no
Free yes partial yes partial yes yes yes partial yes yes yes yes partial partial
Open source yes ? ? ? ? yes ? ? ? ? ? ? ? ?

The "?" are question marks, not "no": for the rows that are C-A-R-T-A specialities (.p7m files, XML invoices, law-citation checking, deadlines in the calendar) no matching feature appears in the competitors' pages, but that does not prove it does not exist in other forms, for example as an add-on.

Where the others are stronger

Where C-A-R-T-A is different

How to read this comparison

This page is not meant as marketing: every figure is attributed, and where a source is missing the table says "not stated". If you find a wrong or outdated number, report it from the questions page: it will be corrected and the date updated. For the full list of what C-A-R-T-A can do, go to the features.